India and Pakistan are among the cricketing powerhouse of Asia. Both countries have achieved a lot at the highest level. Their rivalry on the cricket field is one of the fiercest and all cricket lovers wait for their clash. But due to diplomatic tensions, India and Pakistan haven’t played any bilateral series over the past few years. They play each other only at the ICC events.

As cricket has been stopped since the outbreak of COVID-19. As no live-action is available, let’s take a look at some of the interesting facts off the field. Cricketers enjoy superstar status in India and Pakistan. They earn a lot of money from their respective boards. Apart from that, they also earn from various endorsements.

The board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) had recently announced annual contracts for the 2020-21 season. Cricketers are divided into four categories- namely A+, A, B, and C. Skipper Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah are included in the top category. They earn 7 crores annually. A, B, and C category players paid INR 5, 3, and 1 crore.

Pakistan recently announced contracted players list if the 2020-21 season. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has taken some tough decisions as they left out Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, and Hasan Ali from the list. The PCB has divided cricketers into three categories- A, B, and C. The top category players get 62.40 lakh annually. Pakistan captains Babar Azam and Azhar Ali found their place at the top. Young talent Shaheen Afridi also included in this category. Nine and six players are tagged with the B and C category. They will get INR 42.57 and INR 31.22 lakh annually. PCB included 18 players in their contract list. Their counterpart BCCI named 27 cricketers in the same.

So, it is clearly visible that Indian players earn a lot compare to Pakistan players. Here are the exact details of the annual salary of Indian and Pakistan:

PCB Central Contracts (2020-21)
GradeAnnual retainership (INR)Players
A62.44 lakhBabar Azam, Azhar Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi
B42.57 lakhAsad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shan Masood, Yasir Shah
C31.22 lakhFakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Naseem Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Usman Shinwari

BCCI’s central contracts for 2019-20 season

BCCI Central Contracts (2019-20)
GradeAnnual retainership (INR)Players
A+7 croreVirat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah
A5 croreRavichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant
B3 croreWriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal
C1 croreKedar Jadhav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here