COVID-19 pandemic still not completely disappeared. However, the cricketer is slowly starting again. After more than 100 days break, international cricket resumed with England-West Indies’ ongoing Test series. Subsequently, England will face Pakistan for Test and T20I series which will start from August 5. Before that, England and Ireland will play three-match ODI series starting on July 30. England has announced a 14-man squad for the series. All the matches will be played without spectators.

As far as the English squad is concerned, most of the players involved in the ongoing Test series against West Indies have been left out. The only player to be included from the Test series is Joe Denly. One of the most striking features of the squad is the inclusion of Reece Topley. He last played for England in the 2016 T20 World Cup. David Willey, who missed the chance to play at the last year’s World Cup by a whisker has finally got his chance and he will try his best to cement his place in the squad. Last year at the eleventh hour he was ignored as selectors thought Jofra Archer will be more useful at the mega event and the pacer hasn’t disappointed them.

Phil Salt played blistering innings of 58 ball hundred on Sunday during a warm-up match against Ireland. But he has not been included. Uncapped trio Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, and Liam Livingstone have been selected as reserve players.

Moeen Ali has been named as vice-captain of England. Eoin Morgan will continue to play to the role of skipper. Jonny Bairstow, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, and James Vince have found their place in the ODI squad.

Reece Topley returns after four years break

Reece Topley looking confident to make a good comeback for England. The player last played for the national team back in 2016 in India during T20 World Cup. He suffered heavily due to his back problems. Finally, he went through surgery in 2018. Since then he gradually regained his fitness. He played good innings for Sussex and in T20 Blast. 

England’s ODI squad for Ireland series: Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

Reserves: Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here