Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020 is going to start on August 18. All the matches will be played without spectators in two stadiums in Trinidad and Tobago. The organizers of the tournament are taking special care to keep the players and support staff in a safe environment.

Many cricketers of South Africa are contracted with various franchises of CPL. But it has been learned that this year only Imran Tahir will be able to ply his trade in the league. Other South African players Rassie van der Dussen, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje, Rilee Rossouw, and Colin Ingram have not been able to confirm their travel arrangements. So, they will miss this year’s tournament.

As per a report by ESPNCricinfo, CPL organizers wanted all the overseas players in the country by August 1, so that they could spend their quarantine period before taking part in the tournament. South Africa is currently under lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Still, there are travel restrictions. However, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has issued No Objection Certificates (NOC) to the players who will play in IPL 2020. 

Imran Tahir has been out of the country over the last few months. He has been playing in PSL when lockdown as announced in South Africa. So, he has been able to travel to the West Indies. But his fellow South African cricketers couldn’t do the same. South Africa is among the worst-hit countries in the African continent who has been hugely affected by the deadly virus. So far, the country has witnessed more than 4 lakhs COVID-19 positive cases. More than 7000 lives lost. In these hard times, cricket is slowly making a comeback. International cricket began with the West Indies-England Test series. Now various domestic and leagues across the world are also going to start soon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here