After the world cup hopes were dashed in England in July, 2019, Team India turned around by winning series against West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Before heading down to New Zealand for the all important bilateral ODI, T-20 and Test series against the Black Caps, India had to prove a point against Australia, who had a wonderful summer. Aussies were high on confidence as they won back to back series against Pakistan and New Zealand.

The first ODI of the series in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium was a rude shock for the Indian cricket team and it’s fans across the globe. Australia beat India by 10 wickets in the series opener. India looked sloppy in the field in all departments. Their bowling and batting looked average. They almost surrendered before the Aussies.

India came back strongly in the second ODI. They scored 300 odd runs as the Aussies won the toss and choose to field first. Good bowling from Mohammed Shami and Co made sure that India were the winning team at the end of the day. With this win at Rajkot, the three match ODI series were tied at 1-1. So the third as well as the last match became the series decider. Both teams wanted to win the Bengaluru match, as it would make them the champions of the series.

Virat Kohli was in fine touch in Bengaluru against Australia. Photo source: Twitter

Australia had won the toss in two previous games and choose to bowl first. The same thing happened in Bengaluru. The visiting team won the toss. But for unlike the two previous occasions, they decided to bat first.

Their openers David Warner (3) and Aron Finch (19) got out cheaply. Steve Smith steadied the innings with his wonderful hundred. Before being caught by Shreyas Iyer in Shami’s delivery, the former Australia captain scored 131 off just 132 balls. He smashed 14 fours and 1 six. Marnus Labuschagne scored 54 runs. Wicketkeeper Alex Carey also chipped in with a few runs (34). Aussies could not finish the innings to their liking as their last four wickets fell very cheaply. When Smith and Labuschagne were batting, it looked like Australia would go past 300 runs easily. But that did not happen. In 50 overs they managed only 286 runs for 9 wickets. Credit has to be given to Indian bowlers for bowling at consistent line and length. Mohammed Shami again proved to be the best among the lot as he took four wickets. Ravindra Jadeja got two wickets. Navdeep Saini and Kuldeep Yadav got one wicket each. Jasprit Bumrah did not get a wicket. But his bowling figure (10-0-38-0) tells us, why he is considered one of the best fast bowler.

India began their run chase on a steady note, loosing their first wicket at 69. KL Rahul got out for 19 runs. Then came Indian captain Virat Kohli, who, along with vice captain Sharma made sure India were well on it’s course to victory. Rohit Sharma scored a century (119) and Virat Kohli scored 89. Their partnership literally took the game away from Australia. Shreyas Iyer (44) played the role of a finisher. India thus won the ODI series by 2-1 margin. Rohit Sharma were adjudged man of the match. Captain Virat Kholi were given man of the series award. India will now travel to New Zealand for a long tour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here