Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 is going to start on September 19 in UAE. COVID-19 pandemic has forced the BCCI to shift the cash-rich league out of India. The final match of the tournament will reportedly be played on November 10. However, no formal announcement regarding the schedule of IPL 2020 hasn’t been made yet.

Sponsorship has been a huge debate in this year’s IPL. China-based smartphone maker Vivo was the title sponsor of IPL. But the brand pulled out of the tournament a few weeks ago after diplomatic relations between India and China deteriorated following the deaths of at least 20 Indian soldiers near Galwan Valley, Ladakh. BCCI has invited bids for title sponsorships of IPL. According to media reports, companies like Tata, Dream 11 have expressed their interest. A final decision will soon be announced by the BCCI.

Meanwhile, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) of Indian Premier League (IPL) and Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have announced their principal sponsors. Venky Mysore, the Knight Riders’ Managing Director, and Chief Executive has said that Mobile Premier League (MPL), the gaming and esports company will be the chief sponsors for both of the teams.

“We are very excited to partner with MPL, which is a vibrant Indian start-up company promoted and run by a group of young and innovative people, in esports and gaming, that is bound to grow significantly. Our partnership across KKR in IPL and TKR in CPL, will create new opportunities to socialise and activate our partnership,” the CEO was quoted as saying in The Times of India (TOI).

“We are excited to be the principal sponsors for Kolkata Knight Riders. The team has been a household name right from the start and have won the prestigious IPL championship twice,” Abhishek Madhavan, the VP, Growth and Marketing, MPL, mentioned.

The CPL is all set to start on Tuesday, August 18 and Trinbago Knight Riders will lock horns with last year’s runners-up Guyana Amazon Warriors. CPL 2020 will be played at two venues in Trinidad- The Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba and the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here