Amidst coronavirus scare, international cricket is all set to begin from next month. West Indies and England will play a three-match Test series from the first week of July. West Indies team will fly to the UK within the next few days and will isolate themselves at Old Trafford. They will undergo a three-week training before the proposed series. Even though the Test series is subject to final clearance from the UK government, it has been learned that the authorities will give a green signal unless anything dramatic happens at the last moment. All the matches will be played without spectators.

Meanwhile, West Indies has announced their 14 man squad. They have also named an additional 11 man reserve squad for the series. What is worth mentioning in the squad is that players like Chemar Holder, Raymon Reifer, Nkrumah Bonner, and Jermaine Blackwood have been included. However, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and Keemo Paul have been excluded from the team.

Young talent Chemar Holder has been a consistent performer at the domestic circuit. Rightfully he has been given a chance to prove his worth at the highest level. He bagged 36 wickets in the 2019-20 season. “Chemar Holder is an exciting young fast bowling talent who is coming off an excellent domestic First-Class season. He should enjoy bowling in English conditions. Jermaine Blackwood returns by sheer weight of performance in the domestic First-Class season. His patience and application were evident,” CWI’s Lead Selector, Roger Harper said as quoted by Cricbuzz. 31-year-old Bonner is also one of the consistent performers at the domestic level. That’s why the Jamaican has been selected at the Test squad. Middle-order batsman Blackwood has returned to the squad after a long gap.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rakheem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer and Kemar Roach

Reserve players: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here